aspect-ratio 10x9

Photo: Alexander Theis


On Tuesday, Nov. 30, 2021, the book release of "10%" followed by a roundtable will take place in the atrium of the Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe. The event will start at 7:30 pm, admission is from 7 pm. The event will also be streamed online at the following link:

In 1956, the Nuclear Research Center Karlsruhe (KfK) was established, dedicated to nuclear technology. The activities of KfK were documented photographically from the beginning and today include a photo collection of about 210,000 negatives, which were transferred to the KIT archive in 2014. Of these, around 10 percent have since been digitized.

The publication "10%" opens up a broad-based indexing of the photographic material according to a variety of viewpoints by bringing together very different practices in dealing with the archival material and a wide range of questions about its documentary character. The volume offers approaches that address connections between nuclear research, its social references, and the specific characteristics of the imagery studied here.

The publication emerged from a process that formed between 2017 and 2021 as a cooperation between the Artistic Photography Department of the HfG and the KIT Archive in joint research, seminars, and exhibitions, as well as in discussions on collective knowledge. The joint enrichment of knowledge and the reflection on the process of selecting 10 percent of the archive's image stock for digitization finally shaped the concept of the publication "10 %. Concerning the Image Archive of a Nuclear Research Center".

For the image selection shown in the book, 34 authors were invited to compile a series of images based on freely chosen criteria and to write a text. The contributions represent different professional interests, methodological approaches and personal attitudes. They range from contributions from the perspectives of the disciplines cultivated at KfK and from archival approaches to iconological and scientific-historical questions to political positioning, literary works, and formats of artistic research. The texts and the image selections are determined by individual, sometimes strongly subjective views on the subject of nuclear research, and they stand independently of the opinions of the editors. Thus, image routes and perspectives cross within the book - from outside and within the KfK and its successor institution KIT.

The volume not only provides access to the image world of nuclear research, but also to photographic and image-legal discourses. The image production of the KfK, created over 50 years, also contains a history of the change in photographic techniques and aesthetic conventions. The mediality of the selected images ranges from small, medium and large formats in black and white and color to moving images. Each of these documents marks an individual view of nuclear research in terms of technique, material, aesthetics, and content.

While the original negatives will be stored for 'eternity' at -18 degrees Celsius one year after the publication of this book, the reproduction of the motifs in this book is intended to stimulate reflection on the concept of eternity and its technical, energy-political, life-conditional responsibilities, i.e. an expanded ecological perspective.

o Prof. Susanne Kriemann (artist, director of the artistic research project "Untitled (Archive)", HfG)
o Judith Milz (artist, alumna HfG Karlsruhe)
o Friederike Schäfer (art scientist)
o Klaus Nippert (archivist and historian, head of the KIT Archive)
o Elke Leinenweber (member of the project management in the DFG project at the KIT Archive)

Graphic artists
o Cécile Kobel
o Moritz Appich

Contributors of the book
Markus Breig, Hangyan Chen, Simone Dahringer-Boy, Mark Damian, Víctor Fancelli Capdevila, Nina Fischer & Maroan el Sani, Christian Fruth, Manuela Gantner, Horst Geckeis & Bernhard Kienzler, Hans-Jürgen Goebelbecker, Doris Heathman, Jana Hofmann, Karena Kalmbach, Romy Kießling, Iden Sungyoung Kim, Paul Koch, Sylvia Kotting-Uhl, Katrin Kranich, Susanne Kriemann, Elke Leinenweber, Judith Milz, Willibald Müller, Klaus Nippert, Nis Petersen, Martin Repohl, Tatjana Rohrmoser & Bianca Janina Stein, Bernd-A. Rusinek, Friederike Schäfer, Natalia Schmidt, Susan Schuppli, Rayna Teneva & Mustafa Emin Büyükcoşkun, Alexander Theis, Carmela Thiele, Jonas Zilius

Diesen Beitrag Teilen auf

More Events