aspect-ratio 10x9

© Leon Stark

Exploring how spaces can be shaped collectively and produced on the basis of a shared practice, the Department of "Exhibition Design and Scenography" at the University of Arts and Design in Karlsruhe (HfG) initiates a transdisciplinary workshop conference. In collaboration with five international artistic collectives - Karrabing Film Collective/Elizabeth Povinelli; Making Futures; Numen for Use; Collectif Paranthèse, and Turbo Pascal - a series of workshops, work presentations, and discussions will take place in the atrium of the HfG and within the Open Campus located in front of the university. The invited collectives operate in the context of visual arts, film, architecture, performance, scenography, and design.

The four workshops will focus on practice-oriented approaches to collaborative action scenarios, from which spatial works in the form of temporary architecture, installation, and performative interventions will emerge.
"Collective Spatial Practices" draws no clear boundaries between lecture, Q&A, break, building, walking, eating, and discussion; the format is oriented toward affective and processual transfer of knowledge. With a focus on modes of egalitarian sharing and participation, experimental spatial practices are tested in a dynamic process where action and reflection converge. As a performative venue for artistic-discursive togetherness, the conference happens on the threshold between perception, practice, and speculation.

The discussions will concentrate on models of spatial work that enable complex themes such as precarious working conditions, consequences of colonial exclusion, solidarity, and sustainability to become visible in their polyphonies, paradoxes, and urgencies.

If you are interested in taking part in one of the workshops and the conference, please send registration to:

The conference website will be online from the 1st of June and it will contain all information about the event and the workshops by the four collectives.

Organisation and HfG-Collective: Hajo Eickbusch, Prof. Constanze Fischbeck, Josephine Gerhardt, Julia Ihls, Jannik Lang, Dr. Andrej Mirčev, Gloria Müller, Philipp Schell, Leon Stark, Christina Vinke, and Ebba Fransén Waldhör.

Diesen Beitrag Teilen auf