The Metabolic Museum University offers an experimental educational program to all visitors of the 33rd Ljubljana Biennial of Graphic Arts, as well as visitors of participating museums in Ljubljana. Over seven days, selected exhibitions are transformed into an unusual and ironic clash between a museum, a university and a body. Unique furniture with a style based on home-camping provides visitors with the means to sit down, read, write, and take part in lectures, conversations, experiments, and exercises. Special metabolic chairs have their own table, light, and miniprojector, enabling participants to ‘spam the hang’ by projecting their own visuals into the gaps between artworks.

Each of the seven days corresponds to an Organ of the Week and is directed by a faculty member of the Metabolic Museum University. In addition, innovative Stimuli prepared by guest artists and scientists interrupt the daily sessions with creative and intellectual impulses.

The Metabolic Museum University is open and free to all visitors with entry tickets to the Biennial venues and museums. It encourages participants to take part in all sessions for the full week if possible, but sporadic visits are also welcome. Sessions will be held in English.

For updated information, please contact www.bienale.si; www.mglc-lj.si; or to and follow us on instragram @metabolicmuseumuniversity


SCHEDULE

Opening
Presentation by Clémentine Deliss, Nevenka Šivavec, and the Faculty of the Metabolic Museum–University

Lungday
Directed by Neža Knez and Philipp Staab with Diane Hillebrand

LUNGDAY focuses on gesture as an exploratory act that lies at the intersection of bodily movement, rule-based actions and signification.

Philipp Staab will give an introductory talk on French concepts of mathematics and associate this philosophy with examples from European and American artistic practice from the 20th century. This juxtaposition aims to reveal certain productive encounters that have taken place between notions of ‘discipline’, the ‘body’ and ‘formalism’. Examples ranging from educational work on geometry to self-engineered techniques of asceticism propose an understanding of mathematics as an embodied, experimental activity. To conclude he presents a positive reading of ‘discipline’ as a tool for self-regulation and transformation.

For Neža Knez, action is a question of understanding. What is a, what is b? What is a word, what is a sentence, what is speech? What is the body and how do we think through the body? The voice both produces speech and punctures speech at the same time. The less we hear, the more we want to hear. Through verbal ‘non-sense’, Knez makes the speaker, who is also the listener, think beyond a language spoken and heard. Visitors are invited to sit on chairs and read a language which they do not know. In parallel, listeners will hear a language they do not recognise. With this performance, Knez investigates the endurance of participation and the relation of intangibility to different forms and illusions. How long is one willing to remain polite while receiving misunderstandings as information?

Tongueday
Directed by Jon Richter with Christina Scheib

TONGUEDAY explores the different dimensions of this bizarre human and animal organ.
With over 10,000 taste buds, the tongue is a fantastic tool. It is also the subject of colloquialisms such as ‘hold your tongue!’ or ‘tongue in cheek’.
In various ways, the tongue produces difference and sometimes appears to have a life of its own – a life that has the ability to question and express authority. To tear out the tongue is the most radical means of power against freedom of speech. Basing his lecture on philosopher Gilles Deleuze’s distinction between humour and irony as methods for subverting the rule of law, Richter conducts a session of talks and exercises that aim to loosen our tongues, so they can play their part in the metabolic concert of the organs.

Eyeday
Directed by Alexander Schindler, Felipe Meres, and Ariana Dongus with Lizzy Ellbrück

EYEDAY leads you down several paths of visual perception.
Guided by Alexander Schindler, we begin with the concrete object and its two-dimensional visual representation. Then we try to sensitize ourselves to the unconscious processes of kinaesthetic perception. We find out that with acts of cognition, every object as well as its visual representation is in constant motion. It is never still but always spatial and temporal. During interactive moments, we dedicate ourselves to so-called model-based images. They are the result of intensive rendering processes of highly detailed metric measurements of spatial situations. Their appearance on our screens suggests the possibility for manifold observations of nearly endless scale and perspective. Schindler asks: are we able to abandon the directionality of the linear perspective we have become so accustomed to? Can we apprehend the extended process of ‘Polyscopy’, multiplying perspectives on an object in space and recognizing it as a kinetically constructed phenomenon? For Schindler’s session we follow the path of visual perception by means of an audio guide. Participants are asked to bring their smartphones with mobile internet connection to EYEDAY.

In the second session of EYEDAY, Felipe Meres focuses on the roles that 3D scanning and hyper-realistic imaging technologies play in the documentation of ethnographic collections in museums across Europe and the U.S. While anthropologists and curators highlight the benefits that could come from the unprecedented level of access to the objects that these technologies provide, the question of what it means to submit ethnographic and ritual objects to such secular technologies remains underexplored. The process of 3D scanning ethnographic artifacts inextricably ties the objects to a network that includes agents not often associated with museums, such as action games with intensive graphics renderings, blockbuster films with complex CGI effects as well as tech companies that develop the graphics cards, 3D rendering software, algorithms and image-capture technologies used in the process. What are the effects of forcefully subsuming ethnographic artifacts in such hyper-realistic network of CGI and in the larger project that aims to produce a level of photo­realism never achieved before, effectively rendering the distinction between simulation and reality unattainable to the human eye?

In the final session, Ariana Dongus discusses the coded gazes of camera sensors from city surveillance to smartphones and how these billions of images of the world have become precious raw material in an age of algorithms and artificial intelligence. She will critically investigate the evolution of techniques for identification and control, tracing the emergence of new norms that connects the historical emergence of biometric fingerprinting in the colonial and industrial age to today’s war on terror. She asks, how can we form a collective political strategy to resist the objectification of people and their rendition into suspicious subjects, de-humanized and stripped of self-agency, history, and intelligence? The lecture performance invites participants to enter a multipolar, visual landscape of object traces, biometric apparatuses, texts and archival images to take a closer look at the ‘genealogy of obsession’ to measure differences.

Brainday
Directed by Ilya Fedotov-Fedorov with Teresa Häußler

BRAINDAY investigates the relationship between human nature and science on the basis of zoological and natural history collections.

Basing his session on a selective guided tour of the Slovenian Museum of Natural History in Ljubljana, Fedotov-Fedorov will uncover and discuss the museum’s collections and methodologies. Selecting specific artefacts, he will ask why certain animals are regarded as more important than others. Following his tour, participants will reconvene in the Metabolic Museum University chairs to play a special game ‘Which Animal in Your Next Life?’. Based on individual answers, groups will be formed. Against the backdrop of current existential conditions, each group of human-animals shall debate their chances of survival. The session will conclude with a presentation by Fedotov-Fedorov of his artistic practice with archives and collections in the Moscow Museum of Zoology.

Skinday
Directed by Inside Job (Ula Lucińska & Michał Knychaus) with Francesca Romana Audretsch

SKINDAY guides you through the surface structure of the National Gallery of Slovenia.
Inside Job introduces binoculars to transform the existing exhibition into an abstract and immersive experience. By zooming in and out and observing in an unusual way, the realm of physical space shifts into a fluctuating, virtual territory. Similar to skin, we identify the functions of insulation, regulation, synthesis, protection and sensation. Observing artworks and exhibition spaces as if they were living environments or habitats, we learn about their peculiar migrations. Can we imagine a biennial happening in a sun-baked desert or deep under the earth? Can art and its production be freed from an anthropocentric perspective and taken out of the framework of architecture that persuasively governs our ways of reading? Using a speculative methodology, we seek to support the value of the imaginary in relation to normative systems of rational thinking and seeing. By combining the session with exercises in active observation and research-based discussions, we examine skin as one of the most important organs, which like a lens, draws together the states of being of all our organs.

Liverday
Directed by Toby Upson with Cécile Kobel

LIVERDAY uses QR codes and instant books to detoxify the labels that classify works of art.
Group exhibitions often feel similar to department stores. Here objects of desire are lined up and labelled with just enough information: brand, size, and price. In the store you are made to believe that taste is yours alone. In the exhibition space this didactic methodology of labelling clashes with the civic responsibility carried by cultural spaces of learning, sharing, and joy. For LIVERDAY Upson stimulates engagement between works and visitors by freeing the exhibit from the standardized label with its regular name of the artist, title of the work, date, medium, size, and provenance. Entering MGLC, visitors are encouraged to create a new label for each artwork by writing and drawing notes in open books and accessing digital repositories, mediated by QR codes. Following LIVERDAY, the material collected through these metabolic expulsions will be compiled into a digestive archive: gluttonous resources brimming with subjective interpretations. Related and gifted to each artwork, these collections of human expressions will provide poly-cultural nourishment for research, exhibition design, and future discussion.

Heartday
Directed by Linh Tuong Do with Janina Capelle

HEARTDAY explores intimate experience and asks us to re-think and re-imagine the notion of solidarity.
Linh Tuong Do asks us to consider; What solidarity represents in our present day context? How does it relate to current concepts of ‘power’, ‘alliance’, and ‘difference’? The heart as the organ of cardiac metabolism functions to synthesize growth, repair and regeneration. These three processes take place simultaneously and are central to the group situations and exercises set up by Linh Tuong Do. Activities in the form of speaking, writing, listening, and movement – whatever is most comfortable for participants – highlight modes of difference that may sometimes lead to conflicts, misunderstandings and divisions. Linh Tuong Do will introduce keywords, images, and questions in order to develop a subjective and open conversation about the notion of friendship.

STIMULI:
Through humorous and associative actions, Stimuli provide impulses to the lectures, conversations, experiments, and exercises of each Organ of the Week.
Stimuli interventions throughout the week by:
Jan Babnik (curator & editor), Rut Blees Luxemburg (artist & photographer), Jandra Böttger & Tatjana Stürmer (art histo-rian & graphic designer) Matthias Bruhn (art historian & media theorist), Mateja Bučar (dancer & choreographer), Ariana Dongus (media philosopher), Špela Drnovšek Zorko (anthro­pologist), Hypercomf (artist collective), Lennart Krauß (artist), Susanne Kriemann (artist & photographer), Mathias Lempart & Xavier Robles de Medina (graphic designers & artists), Augustin Maurs (musician & composer), Tom McCarthy (nov­elist), Andreas Müller (exhibition designer), Nataša Petrešin Bachelez (art historian & curator), Carlo Siegfried (exhibition designer), Eva Stenram (artist & photographer), Rebecca Stephany (graphic designer & artist), and guests.

The Metabolic Museum–University is a cooperation between the Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design and the MGLC, International Centre of Graphic Arts for ‘Crack Up – Crack Down’, the 33rd Ljubljana Biennial of Graphic Arts, 2019. With the participation of the Museum of Contemporary Art Metelkova, the Slovenian Museum of Natural History, and the National Gallery of Slovenia.

Concept and Direction: Prof. Dr. Clémentine Deliss, Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design

Additional Guidance: Prof. Dr. Matthias Bruhn, Prof. Andreas Müller Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design

Development & Organisation 2018–2019: Francesca Romana Audretsch, Janina Capelle, Lizzy Ellbrück, Teresa Häußler, Diane Hillebrand, Cécile Kobel, Christina Scheib

Correspondence and Communication: Lizzy Ellbrück, Francesca Romana Audretsch, Christina Scheib

Communication Design: Cécile Kobel

Social Media: Cécile Kobel, Lizzy Ellbrück

Furniture and Spatial Design: Diane Hillebrand, Janina Capelle, Teresa Häußler, Christina Scheib

Special Support: Hanne König, Thomas Rustemeyer, Exhibition Design and Scenography, Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design

Organisation MGLC, Ljubljana: Nevenka Šivavec, Director; Yasmín Martín Vodopivec, Assistant Director and Coordinator of the Metabolic Museum– University in Ljubljana; Iris Pokovec, Assistant Coordinator of the Metabolic Museum–University in Ljubljana
With thanks to Ždenka Badovinac, Barbara Jaki, Breda Cinc Juhant, Tobias Keilbach, Simon Knebl, Alex Knoppik, Evi Künstle, Christiane Linsel, Matthias Mai, Henrike Naumann, Ahmet Ögüt, Alenka Pirman, Sebastian Schäfer, Susanne Schmitt, Slavs and Tatars, Peter Weigand, Asya Yaghmurian, Adela Železnik!

Participating students:
Francesca Romana Audretsch, Janina Capelle, Lizzy Ellbrück, Teresa Häußler, Diane Hillebrand, Cécile Kobel, Christina Scheib

Supervision:
Clémentine Deliss

Period:
July 26 – August 2, 2020

Location:
33rd Ljubljana Biennial of Graphic Arts at MGLC Ljubljana, additional participating institutions of MM–U are Museum of Contemporary Art Metelkova, Slovenian Museum of Natural History, National Gallery of Slovenia

Links:
https://www.e-flux.com/announcements/263405/metabolic-museum-university/

Die Metabolic Museum University bietet ein experimentelles Bildungsprogramm für alle Besucher der 33. Ljubljana Biennale der grafischen Künste sowie für BesucherInnen der teilnehmenden Museen in Ljubljana. Sieben Tage lang werden ausgewählte Ausstellungen in ein ungewöhnliches und ironisches Zusammentreffen zwischen einem Museum, einer Universität und einer Leiche verwandelt. Einzigartige Möbel im Stil des Home-Camping bieten den BesucherInnen die Möglichkeit, sich hinzusetzen, zu lesen, zu schreiben und an Vorträgen, Gesprächen, Experimenten und Übungen teilzunehmen. Spezielle metabolische Stühle verfügen über einen eigenen Tisch, Licht und einen Miniprojektor, der es den Teilnehmenden ermöglicht, "Spam the hang" zu machen, indem sie ihre eigenen Bilder in die Lücken zwischen den Kunstwerken projizieren.

Jeder der sieben Tage entspricht einem Organ der Woche und wird von einem Fakultätsmitglied der Metabolic Museum University geleitet. Zusätzlich unterbrechen innovative Stimuli, die von GastkünstlerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen vorbereitet werden, die täglichen Sitzungen mit kreativen und intellektuellen Impulsen.

Die Metabolic Museum University ist offen und kostenlos für alle BesucherInnen mit Eintrittskarten für die Veranstaltungsorte und Museen der Biennale. Sie ermutigt die Teilnehmenden, wenn möglich die ganze Woche über an allen Sessions teilzunehmen, aber auch sporadische Besuche sind willkommen. Die Sitzungen werden in englischer Sprache abgehalten.


Zeitplan

Eröffnung
Präsentation von Clémentine Deliss, Nevenka Šivavec und der Fakultät des Stoffwechselmuseums

Mittagspause
Regie: Neža Knez und Philipp Staab mit Diane Hillebrand

LUNGDAY konzentriert sich auf die Geste als explorativen Akt, der an der Schnittstelle von körperlicher Bewegung, regelbasierten Handlungen und Bedeutungen liegt.

Philipp Staab wird einen Einführungsvortrag über französische Konzepte der Mathematik halten und diese Philosophie mit Beispielen aus der europäischen und amerikanischen künstlerischen Praxis des 20. Jahrhunderts in Verbindung bringen. Diese Gegenüberstellung zielt darauf ab, bestimmte produktive Begegnungen aufzuzeigen, die zwischen Vorstellungen von 'Disziplin', 'Körper' und 'Formalismus' stattgefunden haben. Beispiele, die von der pädagogischen Arbeit an der Geometrie bis zu selbst entwickelten Techniken der Askese reichen, schlagen ein Verständnis der Mathematik als verkörperte, experimentelle Aktivität vor. Abschließend präsentiert er eine positive Lesart von 'Disziplin' als Werkzeug zur Selbstregulierung und Transformation.

Für Neža Knez ist das Handeln eine Frage des Verstehens. Was ist a, was ist b? Was ist ein Wort, was ist ein Satz, was ist Sprache? Was ist der Körper und wie denken wir durch den Körper? Die Stimme produziert Sprache und unterbricht gleichzeitig die Sprache. Je weniger wir hören, desto mehr wollen wir hören. Durch verbalen 'Unsinn' bringt Knez den Sprechenden, der auch der Zuhörende ist, dazu, über eine gesprochene und gehörte Sprache hinaus zu denken. Die BesucherInnen werden eingeladen, sich auf Stühle zu setzen und eine Sprache zu lesen, die sie nicht kennen. Parallel dazu werden die Zuhörenden eine Sprache hören, die sie nicht kennen. Mit dieser Performance untersucht Knez die Ausdauer von Partizipation und das Verhältnis von Ungreifbarkeit zu verschiedenen Formen und Illusionen. Wie lange ist man bereit, höflich zu bleiben, während man Missverständnisse als Informationen empfängt?

Tongueday
Regie: Jon Richter mit Christina Scheib

TONGUEDAY erforscht die verschiedenen Dimensionen dieses bizarren menschlichen und tierischen Organs. Mit über 10.000 Geschmacksknospen ist die Zunge ein fantastisches Werkzeug. Sie ist auch Gegenstand umgangssprachlicher Redewendungen wie "Hold your tongue!" oder "tongue in cheek".
Die Zunge erzeugt auf verschiedene Weise Unterschiede und scheint manchmal ein Eigenleben zu haben – ein Leben, das die Fähigkeit hat, Autoritäten in Frage zu stellen und auszudrücken. Die Zunge herauszureißen ist das radikalste Machtmittel gegen die Redefreiheit. Ausgehend von der Unterscheidung des Philosophen Gilles Deleuze zwischen Humor und Ironie als Methoden zur Unterwanderung des Rechtsstaates führt Richter eine Reihe von Gesprächen und Übungen durch, die darauf abzielen, unsere Zungen zu lockern, damit sie ihren Teil zum metabolischen Konzert der Organe beitragen können.

Eyeday
Regie: Alexander Schindler, Felipe Meres und Ariana Dongus mit Lizzy Ellbrück

EYEDAY führt Sie auf verschiedene Wege der visuellen Wahrnehmung.
Unter der Leitung von Alexander Schindler beginnen wir mit dem konkreten Objekt und seiner zweidimensionalen visuellen Darstellung. Dann versuchen wir, uns für die unbewussten Prozesse der kinästhetischen Wahrnehmung zu sensibilisieren. Wir stellen fest, dass bei Erkenntnisakten jedes Objekt und auch seine visuelle Repräsentation in ständiger Bewegung ist. Es ist nie still, sondern immer räumlich und zeitlich. In den interaktiven Momenten widmen wir uns den sogenannten modellbasierten Bildern. Sie sind das Ergebnis intensiver Rendering-Prozesse von hochdetaillierten metrischen Messungen räumlicher Situationen. Ihr Erscheinen auf unseren Bildschirmen suggeriert die Möglichkeit vielfältiger Betrachtungen von nahezu unendlichem Maßstab und Perspektive. Schindler fragt: Sind wir in der Lage, die Gerichtetheit der linearen Perspektive, an die wir uns so sehr gewöhnt haben, aufzugeben? Können wir den erweiterten Prozess der 'Polyskopie' begreifen, der die Perspektiven auf ein Objekt im Raum vervielfältigt und es als kinetisch konstruiertes Phänomen erkennt? In Schindlers Session folgen wir dem Weg der visuellen Wahrnehmung mit Hilfe eines Audioguides. Die Teilnehmenden werden gebeten, ihre Smartphones mit mobiler Internetverbindung zu EYEDAY mitzubringen.

In der zweiten Session von EYEDAY konzentriert sich Felipe Meres auf die Rolle, die 3D-Scanning und hyperrealistische Bildgebungstechnologien bei der Dokumentation ethnografischer Sammlungen in Museen in Europa und den USA spielen. Während AnthropologInnen und KuratorInnen die Vorteile hervorheben, die sich aus dem beispiellosen Zugang zu den Objekten ergeben könnten, den diese Technologien bieten, bleibt die Frage, was es bedeutet, ethnografische und rituelle Objekte solchen säkularen Technologien zu unterwerfen, unerforscht. Der Prozess des 3D-Scannens ethnographischer Artefakte bindet die Objekte untrennbar in ein Netzwerk ein, das auch Akteure einschließt, die nicht oft mit Museen in Verbindung gebracht werden, wie z.B. Action-Spiele mit intensiven Grafik-Renderings, Blockbuster-Filme mit komplexen CGI-Effekten sowie Technologieunternehmen, die die Grafikkarten, 3D-Rendering-Software, Algorithmen und Bildaufnahmetechnologien entwickeln, die in diesem Prozess verwendet werden. Welche Auswirkungen hat es, wenn ethnografische Artefakte zwangsweise in ein solches hyperrealistisches Netzwerk von CGI und in ein größeres Projekt eingebettet werden, das darauf abzielt, einen nie zuvor erreichten Grad an Fotorealismus zu erzeugen, wodurch die Unterscheidung zwischen Simulation und Realität für das menschliche Auge effektiv unerreichbar wird?

In der letzten Sitzung diskutiert Ariana Dongus die kodierten Blicke der Kamerasensoren von der Stadtüberwachung bis zum Smartphone und wie diese Milliarden von Bildern der Welt zu kostbarem Rohmaterial in einem Zeitalter der Algorithmen und künstlichen Intelligenz geworden sind. Sie untersucht kritisch die Entwicklung von Techniken zur Identifikation und Kontrolle und spürt der Entstehung neuer Normen nach, die das historische Aufkommen des biometrischen Fingerabdrucks im Kolonial- und Industriezeitalter mit dem heutigen Krieg gegen den Terror verbindet. Sie fragt, wie wir eine kollektive politische Strategie entwickeln können, um uns der Objektivierung von Menschen und ihrer Verwandlung in verdächtige Subjekte zu widersetzen, die entmenschlicht und ihrer Selbstbestimmung, Geschichte und Intelligenz beraubt werden. Die Lecture-Performance lädt dazu ein, eine multipolare, visuelle Landschaft aus Objektspuren, biometrischen Apparaten, Texten und Archivbildern zu betreten, um die 'Genealogie der Besessenheit' zur Vermessung von Unterschieden genauer unter die Lupe zu nehmen.

Brainday
Regie: Ilya Fedotov-Fedorov mit Teresa Häußler

BRAINDAY untersucht die Beziehung zwischen menschlicher Natur und Wissenschaft anhand von zoologischen und naturhistorischen Sammlungen.
Ausgehend von einer selektiven Führung durch das slowenische Naturkundemuseum in Ljubljana wird Fedotov-Fedorov die Sammlungen und Methoden des Museums aufdecken und diskutieren. Anhand ausgewählter Artefakte wird er fragen, warum bestimmte Tiere als wichtiger angesehen werden als andere. Im Anschluss an seine Führung treffen sich die Teilnehmenden in den Sesseln des Stoffwechselmuseums wieder, um ein spezielles Spiel "Welches Tier in Ihrem nächsten Leben?" zu spielen. Anhand der individuellen Antworten werden Gruppen gebildet. Vor dem Hintergrund aktueller existenzieller Bedingungen wird jede Gruppe von Mensch-Tieren ihre Überlebenschancen diskutieren. Den Abschluss der Veranstaltung bildet eine Präsentation von Fedotov-Fedorov über seine künstlerische Praxis mit Archiven und Sammlungen im Moskauer Museum für Zoologie.

Skinday
Regie: Inside Job (Ula Lucińska & Michał Knychaus) mit Francesca Romana Audretsch

SKINDAY führt Sie durch die Oberflächenstruktur der Nationalgalerie Sloweniens.
Inside Job setzt ein Fernglas ein, um die bestehende Ausstellung in eine abstrakte und immersive Erfahrung zu verwandeln. Durch das Hinein- und Herauszoomen und das Beobachten auf ungewohnte Art und Weise verschiebt sich der Bereich des physischen Raums in ein fluktuierendes, virtuelles Territorium. Ähnlich wie bei der Haut erkennen wir die Funktionen der Isolierung, Regulierung, Synthese, des Schutzes und der Empfindung. Indem wir Kunstwerke und Ausstellungsräume beobachten, als wären sie Lebensräume oder Habitate, lernen wir ihre eigentümlichen Wanderungen kennen. Können wir uns eine Biennale vorstellen, die in einer sonnenverbrannten Wüste oder tief unter der Erde stattfindet? Können Kunst und ihre Produktion von einer anthropozentrischen Perspektive befreit und aus dem Rahmen der Architektur herausgenommen werden, die unsere Leseweise überzeugend bestimmt? Mit Hilfe einer spekulativen Methodik versuchen wir, den Wert des Imaginären im Verhältnis zu normativen Systemen des rationalen Denkens und Sehens zu unterstützen. Indem wir die Sitzung mit Übungen zur aktiven Beobachtung und forschungsbasierten Diskussionen kombinieren, untersuchen wir die Haut als eines der wichtigsten Organe, das wie eine Linse die Seinszustände aller unserer Organe zusammenfasst.

Lebertag
Regie: Toby Upson mit Cécile Kobel

LIVERDAY nutzt QR-Codes und Instant Books, um die Etiketten, die Kunstwerke klassifizieren, zu entgiften.
Gruppenausstellungen fühlen sich oft ähnlich an wie Kaufhäuser. Hier werden Objekte der Begierde aufgereiht und mit gerade genug Informationen beschriftet: Marke, Größe und Preis. Im Kaufhaus wird Ihnen vorgegaukelt, dass der Geschmack allein Ihnen gehört. Im Ausstellungsraum kollidiert diese didaktische Methodik der Etikettierung mit der bürgerlichen Verantwortung, kulturelle Räume des Lernens, des Teilens und der Freude zu tragen. Für LIVERDAY stimuliert Upson das Engagement zwischen Werken und BesucherInnen, indem er die Ausstellung von dem standardisierten Etikett mit dem regulären Namen des/der KünstlerIn, dem Titel des Werks, dem Datum, dem Medium, der Größe und der Provenienz befreit. Beim Betreten des MGLC werden die BesucherInnen ermutigt, ein neues Etikett für jedes Kunstwerk zu erstellen, indem sie Notizen in offene Bücher schreiben und zeichnen und auf digitale Repositorien zugreifen, die durch QR-Codes vermittelt werden. Im Anschluss an den LIVERDAY wird das durch diese metabolischen Ausscheidungen gesammelte Material in einem verdauungsfördernden Archiv zusammengestellt: gefräßige Ressourcen, die vor subjektiven Interpretationen strotzen. Diese Sammlungen menschlicher Ausdrucksformen, die mit den einzelnen Kunstwerken in Beziehung stehen und ihnen geschenkt werden, bieten polykulturelle Nahrung für Forschung, Ausstellungsdesign und zukünftige Diskussionen.

Heartday
Regie: Linh Tuong Do mit Janina Capelle

HEARTDAY erforscht intime Erfahrungen und fordert uns auf, den Begriff der Solidarität neu zu überdenken und zu imaginieren.
Linh Tuong Do bittet uns zu überlegen: Was bedeutet Solidarität in unserem heutigen Kontext? Wie verhält sie sich zu aktuellen Konzepten von "Macht", "Allianz" und "Differenz"? Das Herz als Organ des kardialen Stoffwechsels dient der Synthese von Wachstum, Reparatur und Regeneration. Diese drei Prozesse finden gleichzeitig statt und stehen im Mittelpunkt der von Linh Tuong Do gestalteten Gruppensituationen und Übungen. Aktivitäten in Form von Sprechen, Schreiben, Zuhören und Bewegung – was auch immer für die Teilnehmenden am angenehmsten ist – heben Modi der Differenz hervor, die manchmal zu Konflikten, Missverständnissen und Spaltungen führen können. Linh Tuong Do wird Schlüsselwörter, Bilder und Fragen einführen, um ein subjektives und offenes Gespräch über den Begriff der Freundschaft zu entwickeln.

STIMULI: Stimuli geben durch humorvolle und assoziative Aktionen Impulse zu den Vorträgen, Gesprächen, Experimenten und Übungen der einzelnen Organe der Woche.
Stimuli-Interventionen während der Woche von:
Jan Babnik (Kurator & Redakteur), Rut Blees Luxemburg (Künstlerin & Fotografin), Jandra Böttger & Tatjana Stürmer (Kunsthistorikerin & Grafikerin) Matthias Bruhn (Kunsthistoriker & Medientheoretiker), Mateja Bučar (Tänzerin & Choreografin), Ariana Dongus (Medienphilosophin), Špela Drnovšek Zorko (Anthropologin), Hypercomf (Künstlerkollektiv), Lennart Krauß (Künstler), Susanne Kriemann (Künstlerin & Fotografin), Mathias Lempart & Xavier Robles de Medina (Grafikdesigner & Künstler), Augustin Maurs (Musiker & Komponist), Tom McCarthy (Romanautor), Andreas Müller (Ausstellungsdesigner), Nataša Petrešin Bachelez (Kunsthistorikerin & Kuratorin), Carlo Siegfried (Ausstellungsdesigner), Eva Stenram (Künstlerin & Fotografin), Rebecca Stephany (Grafikdesignerin & Künstlerin), und Gäste.

Das Metabolic Museum-University ist eine Kooperation zwischen der Staatlichen Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe und dem MGLC, International Centre of Graphic Arts für 'Crack Up - Crack Down', die 33. Ljubljana Biennale der grafischen Künste, 2019. Mit der Beteiligung des Museums für zeitgenössische Kunst Metelkova, des Slowenischen Museums für Naturgeschichte und der Nationalgalerie Sloweniens.

Konzept und Leitung: Prof. Dr. Clémentine Deliss, Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe

Zusätzliche Leitung: Prof. Dr. Matthias Bruhn, Prof. Andreas Müller, Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst Karlsruhe

Entwicklung & Organisation 2018-2019: Francesca Romana Audretsch, Janina Capelle, Lizzy Ellbrück, Teresa Häußler, Diane Hillebrand, Cécile Kobel, Christina Scheib

Korrespondenz und Kommunikation: Lizzy Ellbrück, Francesca Romana Audretsch, Christina Scheib

Kommunikationsdesign: Cécile Kobel

Soziale Medien: Cécile Kobel, Lizzy Ellbrück

Möbel und Raumgestaltung: Diane Hillebrand, Janina Capelle, Teresa Häußler, Christina Scheib

Besondere Unterstützung: Hanne König, Thomas Rustemeyer, Ausstellungsdesign und Szenografie, HfG Karlsruhe

Organisation MGLC, Ljubljana: Nevenka Šivavec, Direktorin; Yasmín Martín Vodopivec, stellvertretende Direktorin und Koordinatorin des Stoffwechselmuseums - Universität in Ljubljana; Iris Pokovec, stellvertretende Koordinatorin des Stoffwechselmuseums - Universität in Ljubljana
Mit Dank an Ždenka Badovinac, Barbara Jaki, Breda Cinc Juhant, Tobias Keilbach, Simon Knebl, Alex Knoppik, Evi Künstle, Christiane Linsel, Matthias Mai, Henrike Naumann, Ahmet Ögüt, Alenka Pirman, Sebastian Schäfer, Susanne Schmitt, Slavs and Tatars, Peter Weigand, Asya Yaghmurian, Adela Železnik!

Teilnehmende Studierende:
Francesca Romana Audretsch, Janina Capelle, Lizzy Ellbrück, Teresa Häußler, Diane Hillebrand, Cécile Kobel, Christina Scheib

Betreuung:
Clémentine Deliss

Zeitraum:

  1. Juli - 2. August 2020

Ort:

  1. Ljubljana Biennale der grafischen Künste im MGLC Ljubljana, weitere teilnehmende Institutionen von MM-U sind Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst Metelkova, Slowenisches Museum für Naturgeschichte, Nationalgalerie von Slowenien

Links:
https://www.e-flux.com/announcements/263405/metabolic-museum-university/